The School of Meteorology has 25 full time faculty members covering various aspects of the atmospheric sciences. The School has 33 adjunct and affiliate faculty members with the largest number associated with NOAA’s National Severe Storms Laboratory. We have a diverse array of students from around the globe including the United Kingdom, Canada, Germany, Australia, Korea, China, Taiwan, Norway, and Serbia. We currently have 91 graduate students and 280 undergraduate students. Our regular and emeritus faculty includes 5 endowed chairs and professorship, six Presidential Professors; three Regents Professors; three George Lynn Cross Research Professors; two Emeritus GLC Professors; one Dean; two past Presidents of the American Meteorological Society; two OU Vice Presidents (Research and Weather and Climate).


Jason Furtado

Assistant Professor

Jeff Basara

Associate Professor

Amanda Kis


View All Faculty


Nuzzo, Marisa

Student Media Assistant

Steely, Becky

Assistant to the Director

Hill, Shelby

Coordinator of Undergraduate Programs

View All Staff

Graduate Students

Wang, Qingyu

M.S. Student

Chasteen, Manda

Ph.D. Student

Picca, Joey

Ph.D. Student

View All Graduate Students


Johnson, Aaron

Research Scientist

Schenkel, Ben

Research Scientist

View All Postdocs/Researchers

Adjunct Faculty

Fiebrich, Christopher

‚ÄčAssociate Director, Oklahoma Climatological Survey

Hu, Xiaoming

Adjunct Associate Professor

Ryzhkov, Alexander

Adjunct Professor

View All Adjunct Faculty

Emeritus Faculty

Lilly, Douglas

Professor Emeritus

Postawko, Susan


Brock, Fred

Professor Emeritus

View All Emeritus Faculty